Volume 10, Issue 48 September 22, 2015  
North One Design

Melges Performance Sailboats
us partneer

ILYA logo


Regattas / Calendar



24-27 50th E Blue Chip - Pewaukee

26-27 Nan Norris Beulah C Challenge

26-27 Lotawana C Fall



3-4 Polar Bear C/MC - Davenport, IA

10-11 C Worlds - Delavan 

10  Meeting for 2016 Women's and Girls' Clinic - Barkow home

10-11 Nagawicka Oktoberfest



13 Jim Smith retirement party - Monona Terrace 7:00

14 ILYA Board Meeting - Madison Monona Terrace Hilton


Submit your 2016 dates


10-12 C Nationals - Monona



14-17 MC Invite - Harriet

27-30 X Champs - Okoboji

31- 8/2 Opti Champs - Clear




Donate to ILYA or Support your Olympic Contenders


Join the ILYA
50th E Blue Chip  
Come See the Best in the Nation 
Mystery Guest Attendees
Gary Jobson - 3 time Collegiate All-American, 2 time College Sailor of the Year, 1977 America's Cup Winner on Courageous as Tactician, numerous NA and National Championships, author of 19 books, 2 Emmy's, ESPN broadcaster, National Sailing Hall of Fame, major leader in the sport. Mark Reynolds - 3 time Olympic Medalist, one of the most winning Olympic Medalists in Sailing, 1992 and 2000 Gold Medal, 1988 Silver Medal in the Star class, many World, NA, and National Championships in the Star and Snipe classes, 2000 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year, National Sailing Hall of Fame. Jonathan McKee - 1984 Olympic Gold Medalist in the Flying Dutchman, 2000 Olympic Bronze Medalist in the 49er, 7 World Championships, numerous NA and National Championships.
Paul Cayard - 2 time Olympian, 2004 Olympian in the Star (5th), winner of 7 World Championships, competed in 7 America's Cups, 1998 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year, National Sailing Hall of Fame.
Johnny Lovell - 4 time Olympian, 2004 Silver Medalist in the Tornado class, multi-winner of NA and National Championships, 4 time AllAmerican Collegiate sailor '86-'90 (C of C).
JJ Fetter - 2 time 470 Olympic Medalist (1992 Bronze, 2000 Silver), 4 time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year ('88, '91, '97, '00), '95 Tactician/Skipper America's Cup Defender, National Sailing Hall of Fame.
Peter Holmberg - 1988 Olympic Silver Medalist in the Finn, America's Cup 2010 Winner skipper rotation.
Steve Benjamin - 1984 Olympic Silver Medalist in the 470, multiple World Championships in the 5o5 and Fireball, College Sailor of the Year 1978 (Yale).
Dave Ullman - Winner of 4 major World Championships (470 '77, '78, '80 & Melges 24 in 2007) and 34 National and Hemisphere championships, 1996 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year.
Cam Lewis - 2 time Finn Gold Cup World Champion (79, 80), 2 time 5o5 World Champion (81, 82), 1988 Stars & Stripes America's Cup Winner, 1993 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year.
Bora Gulari - 2 time Moth World Champion 2009 and 2013, multi-winner of other National Championships, 2009 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year.
Dave Perry - 2 time All American '75, '77 (Yale), Match Racing Champion, Multiple Nationals, Author.
Dick Stearns - 1964 Olympic Silver Medalist in the Star class, multiple Star Championships / class legend.
Betsy Alison - US Women's Singlehanded Championship 79, 81, 82, record 5 time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year, National Sailing Hall of Fame.
Terry Neilson - 1984 Olympic Bronze Medalist in the Finn, 1982 Laser World Champion, 1987 America's Cup skipper Canada 2.
Dave Chapin - 3 time World Champion in the Snipe and Sunfish, winner of multiple NA and US Championships in Laser, Sunfish, Snipe, 470 and Soling classes.
Peter Commette - 1st Laser World Champion 1974, US Finn Olympian 1976, multi-winner of NA and US Championships in Laser, Finn, Snipe with an inspiring year of top results in the E Scow in 1978.
Paul Van Cleve - 1983 Finn Gold Cup World Champion, 2 time Finn North American Champion, 2 time ICSA All American (Navy).
Liz Baylis - 2007 U.S. Women's Match Racing Champion, 2003 U.S. Women's Match Racing Champion, 2002 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year.
Graham Landy - 3 time ICSA Team Race National Champion (2013, 2014, 2015), ICSA College Sailor of the Year (2014).
Ed Eloranta - Champion of UW Intergalactic Regatta in 1975; Champion of the One Design Regatta in 1975; Co-author of the "WINDSHIFTS FOR LAKE SAILORS" by Ed Eloranta and Gordy Bowers. Educator "Weather for Sailors" at UW-Madison. Active Hoofer member and Sailing advocate at the University of WI. Madison.

To spectate the event, boats will be provided from the YC piers or there is motorboat launching to the east of the club for a nominal fee. Remember to be respectful of the water and the wake you generate while spectating. Be mindful of the race committee boats who may need to quickly flip or move marks. 
There are several restaurants nearby for lunch or dinner. Ccheck with the club to see if extra food is still available. You are welcome to enjoy the bar and dancing. Saturday night awards are open to all. Come and celebrate those who have made this event what it has been for 50 years. 

For past history of winners and mystery guests, click here
To purchase gear from this great event, order here. There is a mandatory shipping charge now and the delivery date is estimated to be three weeks out. It is great-looking gear; order now. 
ILYA Office  

ILYA logo


PO Box 311

Fontana, WI 53125-0311

Phone: 262-203-7721

Fax: 262-203-7722

Editor: Candace Porter

Inland Lake Yachting Association