A Publication of the Inland Lake Yachting Association
Volume 2, Issue 45 October  17, 2007
In This Issue
ILYA with Two in Qingdao
'08 Regatta sites
B217 is Road Warrior
Join the ILYA
Register for Dues or Regattas
Regatta Notices
13   ILYA Open Forum
14   ILYA Board Meeting
Ruf Wins Trials; Barkow to be Named in Feb
ruf on podium
The biggest smile here belongs to John Ruf,winner of the 2.4 meter Paralympic Trials (shown in blue vest). He is shown with the Doerr and Skandone teams who participated in the two remaining classes. Ruf needed a strong last day to take the berth. He sailed a 2-2 on day 8 of racing to win the tiebreaker. Quantum Sails and Pewaukee YC were supportive of Ruf all the way. Read Destination 1Design for more details. Standing to the right of the flag is Tim Angle who sailed in the Sonar division. Tim was a Hoofers sailor at UW-Madison. Tim suffered a bout of meningitis as a freshman losing an arm.
Check the Laser and Laser Radial results to see the fine performance by our young sailors: Anne Kate Haeger finished 4th with no finish worse than 7th, Lindsay Allen, Chloe Palmer, Erik Bowers and Josh Garber.
Barkow has to wait until the conclusion of the Yngling Worlds to be named the US representative. It appears to be a mere formality as only two US boats are in competition and Barkow leads that contest 2-29.
ILYA Board Names Regatta Site
Monday spinnakersOkoboji will host the Big Inland for all fleets except the A One Design and Melges 17s. MCs, E's and M16s will be in the first part of the week followed by A One Design, I-20s and C's. Steve Avery is your regatta chair so it will be a hogwild event. The A One Designs will convene one week later in Mendota. Brian Anderson and Steve Yost will be your hosts at the magnificent Bishops Bay August 21-24. This is a new schedule, mark your calendars and get hotel reservations. The Melges 17 fleet will repeat last year's venue with a return to Pewaukee July 17-20.
The Invitational sites are confirmed for the most part. Okauchee takes the C's, Nagawicka the MC's; Delavan the E's; White Bear the A Open Invitational. The I-20s will ask Lake Carlyle in southern IL and the M-16s are excited about a possible Lake Harriet event.
The youth will travel to Oshkosh for a fun-packed X Inland, Cedar Lake, WI for the Opti Champs, Beulah for the No Tears East. The No Tears West is still to be determined.  
It's official - Skotarzak. Porter Muller named Road Warrior Champs
Beulah is Team Champ
  Joe and Anne
B217 traveled to Delavan to take the 2008 Road Warrior title. Joe Skotarzak and Anne Porter Muller co-skip the boat throughout the year. It took attendance at the last events to win this title. Skotarzak and Muller attended spring, summer and fall events. It took eight events to take the title-- And some strong finishes to take the award. This effort also resulted in a substitute crew at two events. Father David Porter filled in for Skotarzak as crew but Muller attended all events. Chris Craig from Lake Fenton and the C National Champ, Mark Prange, were the tough competition for the Beulah team.
Lake Beulah took the team awards due to Brickler brothers, Frank Davenport who also used Muller as a crew at times, Kent Haeger who took time off to watch daughter Annie Kate this season and Dave Davenport and Martin Barr who traveled also. If Peter Keck returns to Beulah (he graciously returned to LaBelle to sail with his dad), look for Beulah to be a lock. Okauchee and Lake Lotawana provided tough competition for Beulah.
Who will it be next year?

To submit articles, send to Candace Porter
Inland Lake Yachting Association website, click here.
To contact Executive Secretary Jim Smith, click here.