Volume 11, Issue 78  November 1, 2016  
Subscribe to Scowlines Here

North One Design

Melges log 
Donate to ILYA or Support your Olympic Contenders


Join the ILYA
5-6 ILYA Winter Inland and Board Meeting - Harken, Inc, Pewaukee 
21-23 Black Tie - It's Back - Rush Creek, Tx
TBD WI MC Champs - Nagawicka
20-23 MC Masters Nationals - Cedar, WI
LAST DAY TO REGISTER for Fall/Winter Inland  
ILYA logoFree beer - more BEER!
Awards - Saturday, November 5
Board meeting - Sunday, November 6 
Commodore Schmidt has ordered another keg of beer. His hopes are high for great attendance. Drinks are free on Saturday night at Harken in Pewaukee. It begins with a Melges rigging session at 2:00 and ends with our Association Awards and Hall of Fame inductees, Bill Allen and Don Williquette. Add Annie Haeger skyping in which may be of interest to all your youth sailors as well as our adult sailors, rules changes for RC from John Strassman - it's a great afternoon and evening with your friends. 
 Registration is available at: 


The $25.00 charge is for the food, drink and incidentals associated with the meeting. You may register yourself and up to four persons with one registration click. Deadline is November 1 to assist with the caterer planning. 

You may always send your registration to the ILYA Office: 

PO Box 662 
East Troy, WI 53120

The Board meeting will be held on Sunday, November 6th also at Harken. The meeting opens with an open period for all member comments. Want to ask us for help, comment on a concern, give us a suggestion, the time is yours at the onset of the meeting. Everyone is welcome to attend the entire meeting. If you plan to stay for lunch, email Dave Berg so adequate food is available.  
High School and College Singlehanded Nationals - More info from HS Nationals  
College Nationals this week
The ILYA was very well represented down in Texas at the High School Singlehanded National Championship this past weekend. Cort Vandlik (Minnetonka) finished with an impressive 10th place overall in the . Samuel Bartel (Orono High School, Lake Minnetonka) earned 14th place overall with a race win in the . Christian Spencer (Pewaukee) sailed to 18th overall in the . At the event, 36 of the best high school Laser sailors in the country faced off against each other. Sam, Cort, and Christian represented us very well on the national level - they deserve a loud & proud cheering section now that they're back on home turf. Congratulations, you three! 

The culmination of the Midwest high school sailing season is coming up this weekend at the Great Lakes Championship. 18 of the best high school teams in the region qualified for this event at Chicago Yacht Club. You can follow the scores here:  

This weekend for college nationals, Malcolm Lamphere(Geneva) and Isabella Loosbrock (Minnetonka) are on the posted roster. The Midwest qualifiers are not listed as yet but it looks like two Wisconsin men will be from the ILYA. Watch results at collegesailing.org. 
Nominate our sailors, clubs or members  
US Sailing
Each year US Sailing presents up to five awards to recognize outstanding One Design individuals, classes, clubs and fleets in one-design sailing. The awards - Service, Leadership, Club, Regatta, and Creativity - highlight role models of creative leadership in one-design sailing.
Did your club run an outstanding regatta this year? Is there an exceptional person at your club who was responsible for making your fleet grow? Anyone can nominate a club, fleet, regatta or one-design spark plug for a US Sailing One-Design Award. US Sailing wants to hear about it - one superbly written nomination per nominee is all that is needed.

Click on the blue title of the award to complete a nomination. Please consider someone in your ILYA class since there are stars everywhere in the Inland working to make your experience better. 

The categories are
To recognize distinguished service and leadership in the promotion of one-design sailing and class organization.
In recognition of individual initiative, enthusiasm, organizing ability and leadership in creating the outstanding fleet building program.
To recognize administrative excellence, fleet growth, creative programming, regatta support, member contribution - at regional, national and international levels - of the one-design yacht club of the year.
To recognize excellence in development, promotion, and management by organizers and sponsors of the year's outstanding multi-class or single class, international, continental, national or regional regatta.
To recognize outstanding individual creativity and contribution to the year's most innovative one design event of national or international significance.