2011mastheadILYA SCOWLINES
  A Publication of the
Inland Lake Yachting Association
Volume 6, Issue 46

 August 5, 2011 


4-7 Western Michigan

5-7 Interlake Regatta - Okoboji Fleets: C, no E, MC, X

5-7 ILYA Youth Champs - Calhoun  NOR/ENTRY 

5-7 WYA C Champs

11 Pram Power - North Lake

12-13 X Blue Chip - Cedar 

ILYA Champs - Minnetonka

11-14 C/MC Champs 

14-17 A Champs 

18-21 E Champs

Visit us on our Facebook page NOR/ENTRY

26-28 Melges 17 Nationals - White Lake

 Inland2011.orgMinnetonka ILYA logo

ship's store button

Melges Performance Sailboats

North One Design
line honors
UBS Perrigo
USSAILING Member Partner Program

Donate to ILYA


Join the ILYA
Register for Dues
Minnetonka, here we come!

Registration begins on Thursday at noon.  C's and MC's first. There is still room for a great time. Minntonka is pulling out all the stops. Zinn's are sponsoring a regatta to remember. For last-minute, fast registration, even though late, register online.  Or just come out to watch - C's and MC's August 12-14, A's August 15-17, E's August 19-21. 

Opti Inlands - your winners



 Red White Blue 

1 Harry Chapman  Nagawicka
2 Jack Bitney Minnetonka
3 Alex Keck Beulah
4 John Barr Beulah
5 Matthew Keller Gull Lake
6 JP Friend Pewaukee
7 John Hartfiel Calhoun
8 Trevor Trepton LaBelle
9 Christian Spencer Pewaukee
10 David Winquest Pewaukee
11 Mark Davies Geneva
12 Alec Bischoff Beulah
13 Grace O'Rourke Pewaukee
14 Parker Michel Geneva
15 Lucie Keller Gull Lake

Opti Green Fleet - the future champions
.2011 opti green champs

1 Meta Simon      Pewaukee/Mendota

2 Luca Marban    Pewaukee

3 Catie Malone   Pewaukee

4 Will Michels       North Lake

5 Red Tornehl       Pewaukee

Around the world and nation -

 Breaking News from Spain

 Melges 32s feature Harry Melges, Peter Crawford, Andy Burdick and John Porter, Vincent and Corbett Porter - for full article,click here. 


US Laser Nationals

Malcolm Lamphere and Anne Haeger are competing on the Radial side. The event concludes tomorrow. Results


Ben Garber, Minnetonka, - 420 Sailing


4th out of 100 boats at the Hyannis regatta the last week of July

Then on to the CJ Buckley Youth Team Race Nationals in Greenwich, RI,  where he picked up Minnetonka sailor Madde Loosbrock as part of the ovrall team with four others to finish in a tie for first but an eventual 3rd. Madde and Ben are far left.

team dave

Melges named to Hall of Fame


Annapolis, Md. (August 2, 2011) - Catching up to 200 years of sailing history in the U.S.A., the National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame (NSHOF) today announced the 15 sailors who will make up the historic first-ever class of inductees into the National Sailing Hall of Fame.  Over a two-month period this spring, sailors from all corners of the country - including a U.S. Senator and the mayor of a major metropolitan city - nominated their choice for induction into the sport's Hall of Fame, some even going so far as to consult noted sailing historian John Rousmaniere for accuracy in putting together their submissions.

Inductees are American citizens, 45 years of age and up, who have made significant impact on the growth and development of the sport in the U.S. in categories of Sailing, Technical and Contributor.  Nominations of non-citizens were also considered if they influenced the sport in the U.S., and posthumous nominations were also accepted. 

The undertaking to recognize Americans who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing is central to the mission of the NSHOF which was formed in 2005 and has completed phase one of its plan to establish a permanent facility on the historic waterfront of Annapolis, Maryland.  The selection committee, appointed by the NSHOF, included representatives from the NSHOF Board, the national governing body, the sailing media, the sailing industry, community sailing, a maritime museum and NSHOF founding yacht clubs. Emphasizing the national scope of the NSHOF, this historic first group of inductees will be honored on October 23, 2011, during an invitation-only ceremony scheduled to take place at San Diego Yacht Club in California.

 National Sailing Hall of Fame Inductees : US SAILING Disabled Sailing Team Coach and five-time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year Betsy Alison (Newport, R.I.); surfboard industry pioneer Hobie Alter (California); 1998 Whitbread Round the World Race winning skipper Paul Cayard (Kentfield, California); four-time America's Cup winning skipper Dennis Conner (San Diego, Calif.); naval architect and America's Cup winning skipper Ted Hood (Portsmouth, R.I.); sailor, author and Emmy-award winning sailing commentator Gary Jobson (Annapolis, Md.); 1972 Soling Olympic Gold Medalist Buddy Melges (Zenda, Wisc .); 1968 Star Olympic Gold Medalist and founder of North Sails Lowell North (San Diego, Calif.); and America's Cup winning helmsman and four-time Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Ted Turner (Atlanta, Ga.). 

 National Sailing Hall of Fame Posthumous Inductees:

  Transatlantic Race record setter Capt. Charles "Charlie" Barr (Marblehead, Mass.); naval architect Capt. Nathanael G. Herreshoff (Bristol, R.I.); two-time America's Cup winning skipper Emil "Bus" Mosbacher, Jr. (Greenwich, Conn.); the first-ever singlehanded circumnavigator and noted writer Joshua Slocum (San Francisco, Calif.); yacht designer Olin Stephens (Hanover, N.H.); and three-time America's Cup winning skipper Harold S. Vanderbilt (New York, N.Y.).

 "After years of planning, we are so pleased that the heroes of our sport are getting their long-overdue recognition," said Dick Franyo , President of the NSHOF.  "The National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame will be a place to honor these heroes and provide inspiration for all sailors - young and old."

 The next group of NSHOF inductees will be announced in July 2012, and through 2013 the number of inductees will not exceed 15.  Beginning in 2014, the Selection Committee will induct a maximum of five sailors each year.  For more on the individual accomplishments of the 2011 Inductees, please visit: