A Publication of the Inland Lake Yachting Association
Volume 4, Issue 34

August 10, 2009 

In This Issue
ILYA Office

Melges Performance Sailboats

North One Design
Join the ILYA
Register for Dues


gREENLAKELOGOWe were voted by all of you as the number one (1) venue for the championship regatta!!  Lets' go, we need your support.  Come to beautiful Green Lake.  We are ready and waiting for you.  We promise a great time, good wind and the best food for a decent price.  We are having our famous " Old Fashioned Steak and Corn Roast" for $18.00 on Friday and Sunday nights.  This includes an 8 oz. beef tenderloin, at least two ears of corn, a baked potato, salad, dessert and free beer!!! How much better does it get! 
And for those of you at home. Tune in your computer to Sailgroove. Look for live shots, interviews and loads of reporting. Scowlines will come to you each night with results. Thanks to Rick Trester for the loan of a car and Kent Haeger for bringing an extra boat for Sailgroove's use.  
======= Green Lake, here I come. =========
Entries are still being accepted on the website. See who is already coming.
X Blue Chip - Eddie Cox Wins!
blue chip 
White Bear's Eddie Cox with crew Cole Lee tied with Pewaukee's Nicholas Clemence with sister Maggie for the 2009 X Blue Chip title.
Cox's two race wins broke the tie and Eddie adds this to the Interlake and GLSS titles. The senior fleeters took the top three but Beulah's Michael Barr with Gregory Westin jumped in at fourth to break the trend. Fifth was ILYA winner Kate Klement with Teresa Westin. Cedar welcomed the fleet with thunderstorms, heavy rain and big wind but, as always, a great time.
1 W66 Eddie Cox Cole Lee 15
2 V62 Nicholas Clemence Margaret Clemence 15
3 OO5 Connor Trepton Trevor Trepton 18
4 B66 Michael Barr Gregory Westin 29
5 B111 Kate Klement Teresa Westin 34
6 M67 Addy Ferguson Haley Jewett 36
7 B6 Cullen Barr John Barr 38
8 E3 Natalie Kay Maddie Wohlfeil 39
9 OO26 David Wean Jack Kasbohm 45
10 M99 Anders Ekholm Caitlin McGoldrick 46
 For results, click here.

 Steve Schmidt Wins Fifth Title 
You might wonder who has won this more. Well, it's all in the family. Walter Schmidt has won this trophy SIX times. Tom Frank and Steve come in second at five wins. Results are not posted yet but 43 boats competed at Delavan on a stormy weekend. Melges might be the big winner with six masts down.  
Team Race National Champs

 420teamnationalsThree ILYA Sailors Take Team Racing Title  


Left to right - Will Haeger, Chris Banholzer, George Kutschenreuter 
BIG YOUTH TEAM RACE EVENT reprinted from Scuttlebutt
For 2009, the Club 420 class designated the CJ Buckley Team Race as this year's Club 420 National Junior Team Racing Championship. With 24 teams and 144 junior sailors from as far as Texas, the United States Virgin Islands, and Wisconsin, the CJ Buckley Team Race is the largest team race in the United States this year, and with regatta organizers completing 340 races over three days. Winning the event was Team Boss, from Lake Beulah YC (WI), with team members Will Haeger, Ian Schappe, Chris Banholzer, Nick Clemence, George Kutschenreuter, and Ellie Banholzer. The event was named after CJ Buckley, who lost a valiant fight with cancer in 2002, at the age of 17. A member of the Tabor Academy and Greenwich Bay Sailing Teams, he was a fierce competitor who especially enjoyed team racing. -- Full report: 

While Wisconsin DN skipper Kyle Metzloff is in New Zealand to attend an engineering conference, he plans to scout ice with the goal of introducing the sport of ice sailing to New Zealand, along with becoming the first person to sail an ice boat there. For this attempt, Kyle will be sailing a Blokart land sailing boat fitted with runners. -- Full report:
 Lamphere, Garber, Garber and Dale compete
Reprinted from Scuttlebutt

Newport, RI (Aug. 6, 2009) - "They said we could never do it," says Brad Read today, reflecting on a challenge to run the year's biggest Optimist regatta with 363 youth sailors and no general recalls, no Z flag and no black flag. The final results today proved that Sail Newport and PRO Ken Legler were up to the challenge. Racing concluded today in the very successful 2009 USODA New
England Championship after 18 races and 45 starts but no general recalls, no "ZFP" and no "BFP" on the board. The race management team created a new approach for their Opti trapezoid course with a three-segment, four-boat starting line and reach finish.
With entrants from fourteen states and five countries, the Championship fleet totaled 321 while PRO Matt Hill managed the 45 Green Fleet beginners who finished as many races as the Championship Fleet on Narragansett Bay. The overall winner was Andy Widmeier of Brant Beach, N.J., who after one throw-out, scored fifth place or better throughout the entire series. Harry
Koeppel of Larchmont, New York was second with Duncan Williford, who won the last race but was OCS, in third. The New England Championship is used as a qualifier for the 2010 U.S. team trials. For full results, photos, and video, go to:
PO Box 311
Fontana, WI 53125-0311
Phone: 262-203-7721
Fax: 262-203-7722
To submit articles, send to Candace Porter
Inland Lake Yachting Association website, click here.
To contact Executive Secretary Jim Smith, click here.
Use this area to provide your subscribers information about your organization.

Candace Porter
Inland Lake Yachting Association